Hotel Rankings: Northstar Travel’s 10-Tier Classification System

The Northstar Hotel Classification System and its unique 10-tiered rating procedure, has been an industry standard for decades. Used in our numerous travel publications it stands alone as a completely objective and independent evaluation system with a worldwide application.

 10. Superior Deluxe

An exclusive, one-of-a-kind luxury hotel offering unique experiences and the highest standards of accommodations and facilities and providing almost any level of personal service — Guest and public rooms are luxurious, service is superb — A prestige address - Establishments in this highly selective category are among the world’s most spectacular hotels and resorts.

9. Deluxe

An outstanding, exceptional, luxury hotel offering many of the same features as a Superior Deluxe and in many instances may be just as satisfactory – There may be fewer personalized amenities or services  – May cater to a more upscale, sophisticated clientele looking for an authentic travel experience.

8. Moderate Deluxe

Basically a Deluxe hotel but frequently more heavily marketed to business clients or groups attending a meeting, event or celebration - Expect excellent accommodations and public rooms – May not be as intimate or exclusive or may have less emphasis on atmosphere or personal service, but still a high-end hotel.

 7. Superior First Class

An upscale First Class hotel with some outstanding features and a broad range of services – May have a special focus on flexible spaces, stylish design and amenities, resorts may have an all-inclusive option – Guest rooms and public areas are tastefully furnished and very comfortable striving to meet the needs of the business traveler as well as family and leisure guests. May have superior executive level or wing.   

6. First Class

This is the full service hotel – A dependable hotel with a full range of services, amenities and facilities, comfortable public areas, many with meeting space – Accommodations suitable for all travelers, may have workspaces or all-suite options.

 5. Limited Service First Class

A property offering full first-class comfortable, quality accommodations, but limited public areas, dining and facilities – Usually moderate in size – Some have a residential style with complete kitchens for extended stays, others may feature a unique atmosphere or design – Many offer complimentary breakfast or evening drinks in the lobby or in a casual onsite restaurant.  

 4. Moderate First Class

Essentially a First Class establishment with comfortable but sometimes simple accommodations – Public areas may be limited.  Some first class features may be lacking, but generally provides modern amenities and all the essentials a business traveler, family or leisure guest requires.  

3. Superior Tourist Class

Primarily a mid-market economy hotel, dependable and affordable with a select-serve approach – Accommodations are well kept and functional, some with charming or intimate features – Many with in-room amenities designed for business travelers – Usually public rooms and facilities are limited. 

2. Tourist Class

A property for the budget, cost-conscious traveler providing basic room amenities, but few services – May have some facilities or features of Superior Tourist Class – Accommodations may be standardized – Often in locations convenient to highways, business or airports.  

1. Moderate Tourist Class

A budget property with a no frills approach, providing basic accommodations for the traveler at a low-cost 

JDS Travel News JDS Viewpoints JDS Africa/MI